Skip to main content

E-Mark Certification For Automotive Computers: A Comprehensive Guide

In the ever-evolving automotive industry, technology has become an integral part of vehicle functionality. Among the technological advancements, automotive computers have been at the forefront, managing various functionalities from engine control to navigation and entertainment systems. One essential aspect that governs the quality and international acceptance of these automotive computers is the E-Mark certification.

E-Mark certification is more than just a regulatory requirement; it’s a symbol of quality, safety, and global acceptance in the automotive industry, especially for automotive computers. As vehicles become more interconnected and reliant on sophisticated computing systems, adhering to international standards like E-Mark certification becomes paramount. It ensures that the vehicle computers meet stringent regulations and can withstand the challenges of modern-day transportation.

Whether you’re a manufacturer, supplier, or consumer, understanding E-Mark certification’s significance in automotive computers helps navigate the complex and competitive landscape of today’s automotive industry. By embracing E-Mark certification, your product simply ensures compliance with the highest international standards.

What Is E-Mark Certification?

E-Mark certification is an internationally recognized standard administered by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). It acts as a quality assurance mark for automotive products, including vehicle computers, ensuring they meet the high safety and environmental standards set by the UNECE.

For automotive computers, E-Mark certification validates that the product is safe, eco-friendly, energy-efficient, and theft-resistant. It ensures that the computing systems within vehicles comply with stringent regulations, meeting the highest quality standards, and performing optimally under various conditions. The certification covers aspects such as:

Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Testing: To ensure that the automotive computer does not interfere with other electronic devices and can operate efficiently in its intended environment.

Radiated Emission Tests: To verify that the emissions from the automotive computer are within the permissible limits.

Voltage Transient Emissions Tests: To check the device’s resilience to voltage fluctuations.

Transients Immunity Tests: To analyze how well the automotive computer can cope with sudden energy changes.

When distinguishing “E-Mark” from “e-mark,” one should understand that the E-mark is recognized globally beyond just the EU and complies with UNECE standards. Conversely, the e-mark is tailored to fit specific EU directives designed exclusively for its 27 member states. Each of these EU nations has its own unique number associated with e-mark certificates, and notably, the e-mark symbol is encapsulated in a rectangle, not a circle.

E1: Germany, E2: France, E3: Italy, E4: Netherlands, E5: Sweden, E6: Belgium, E7: Hungary, E8: Czech Republic, E9: Spain, E10: Yugoslavia, E11: United Kingdom, E12: Austria, E13: Luxembourg, E14: Switzerland, E16: Norway, E17: Finland, E18: Denmark, E19: Romania, E20: Poland, E21: Portugal, E22: Russian Federation, E23: Greece, E24: Ireland, E25: Croatia, E26: Slovenia, E27: Slovakia, E28: Belarus, E29: Estonia, E31: Bosnia and Herzegovina, E32: Latvia, E34: Bulgaria, E37: Turkey, E40: North Macedonia, E42: European Community, E43: Japan, E45: Australia, E46: Ukraine, E47: South Africa.

Why E-Mark Certification is Crucial for Automotive Computers

One of the fundamental goals of E-Mark certification is to harmonize vehicle regulations across different nations. For automotive computers, this ensures a uniform standard of quality, safety, and environmental compliance. With E-Mark certification, automotive computers can be traded internationally with ease. This certification is recognized not only within the European Union but also in non-EU UNECE members and several other territories around the globe. These non-EU UNECE members include Norway, Russia, Ukraine, Croatia, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Turkey, Azerbaijan, and Tunisia. Even territories like South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, Thailand, and Malaysia adhere to E-Mark certification guidelines. This wide acceptance means that manufacturers of automotive computers with E-Mark certification can sell their products in these countries without facing regulatory hurdles or additional local certifications.

Manufacturers who obtain E-Mark certification for their automotive computers demonstrate a commitment to quality. Carrying the E-Mark certification requires continuous compliance with the standards and manufacturers must maintain consistent quality in production, ensuring that every unit of the automotive computer meets the certified specifications. The rigorous testing process ensures that the product meets all essential requirements, thus building trust with consumers and business partners alike. Should a quality issue arise, E-Mark certification allows for easier identification and recall of specific batches of automotive computers. The unique identification numbers associated with the certification help in tracking products, enabling efficient quality control and issue resolution.

How to Obtain E-Mark Certification for Automotive Computers

Navigating the intricate pathways of global certifications can be challenging, especially when it comes to products intended for international markets. Among these certifications, the E-Mark stands out as a testament to a product’s adherence to recognized standards. The process of obtaining E-Mark certification involves:

Testing: Submit the product to an accredited laboratory for a series of detailed tests, including EMC, radiated emissions, and more.

Documentation: Prepare a comprehensive test report outlining the test results.

Submission: Send the report to the designated authority for final assessment and approval.

Certification: Once approved, print the E-Mark logo onto the product unit, denoting compliance.

Certain countries have become more popular than others as regulatory authorities, and Luxembourg is one such example. You will often see our rugged in-vehicle PCs carrying the E13 certification, such as below.

Certified E-Mark Computers

Things Embedded proudly partner with global manufacturers of E-Mark automotive computers that reflect the pinnacle of robust quality assurance and strict adherence to international standards. Designed for a multitude of vehicle types, our computers are an integral part of modern automotive technology.

For commercial vehicles, our vehicle computers prove indispensable. Trucks and lorries are equipped with our E-Mark certified solutions for fleet management, navigation, cargo monitoring, and Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS). Buses and coaches utilize our certified computers for functions like ticketing systems, real-time route information, surveillance, and passenger entertainment. Even emergency vehicles such as ambulances, fire trucks, and police vehicles rely on our technology for coordination, navigation, and mission-critical communication.

By entrusting us with your automotive computing needs, you are choosing a partner committed to excellence, innovation, and the highest quality standards. Our E-Mark certified computers are an assurance of reliability and performance, tailored to meet the diverse applications of various industries.

Let Our Team Recommend Your Next In-Vehicle PC

Tell us about your application and a member of the team will get right back to you.